Skip to main content

College, School, Office, Department and Program Names

Include “West Virginia University” or “WVU” with the name of the unit. Note that “West Virginia University” may precede or follow the unit’s name, but the “WVU” abbreviation always precedes the unit’s name. Subsequent references to the unit within the same document or context may omit the “West Virginia University” or “WVU.”

West Virginia University College of Law 
WVU College of Law 
West Virginia University Extension Service 
WVU Extension Service 
Eberly College of Arts and Sciences, West Virginia University 
WVU Eberly College of Arts and Sciences 
Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center, West Virginia University 
WVU Robert C. Byrd Health Sciences Center

Do not use possessives when writing these names, such as “WVU’s College of Law.” Instead, write “the WVU College of Law.” Names of colleges, schools, offices, departments and programs are capitalized when they refer to specific WVU units. Schools and colleges should use their Board of Governors-approved full name for the first reference.

History Department 
School of Nursing 
Office of Graduate Education 

Unless they are proper names, such names are not capitalized when used generically in reference to disciplines and fields of study.

The WVU Public Administration Department offers courses focusing on law and history. 
Mike is an accounting major in the WVU College of Business and Economics. 
Lisa is studying Spanish and computer science at Potomac State College of WVU.

Morgantown Schools and Colleges: 
College of Business and Education 
College of Creative Arts 
Benjamin M. Statler College of Engineering and Mineral Resources 
College of Education and Human Services 
College of Law 
Davis College of Agriculture, Natural Resources and Design 
Eberly College of Arts and Sciences 
Reed College of Media 
School of Dentistry 
School of Medicine 
School of Nursing 
School of Pharmacy 
College of Physical Activity and Sport Sciences 
School of Public Health